REVIEW: Blood Roses – Jason T. Graves

Well… it now looks like the spirit of Christmas threw up all over my house. The tree is now trimmed and every surface generally contains some sort of holiday spirit!

Friday night I found myself long into the dark hours of the night hovered over my iPad reading Blood Roses by Jason T. Graves. 

Image

DESCRIPTION:

Vampires aren’t real… right? If they were, Madeline and Marissa Owen would certainly be suspects: bone-white and night-loving—with a proclivity for super-rare steaks—the identical twins are poster-girls for the undead.

As if looking like teen-aged vampires didn’t cause enough drama, trouble erupts into their lives following a disastrous street fight and a brush with the law by Madeline’s sister. The girls are forced to move from the diverse city of Austin, Texas to the quaint township of Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania—a move clearly designed to bore the aggressive, MMA-fighter Marissa into an early grave.
However, their new lives prove to be anything but boring, as a series of shocking upheavals, unearthed lies, and outright dangers keep them thinking… and running for their lives. Ancient books, coded manuscripts, and evil enemies emerge, challenging the unique skills and inner-strengths of the girls—but can even all of this chaos prepare them for the arrival of real vampires?

Facing threats from multiple quarters, the girls must rely on each other to keep ahead of the rising storm … or be swept away by it.

REVIEW:

I found this book to be “okay.” I did enjoy some parts but others I found myself moving onto the next pages where the story lagged. I will admit I can see the appeal – the writing of the novel was well done and very well presented; I’ve read a number of other reviews comparing Jason T. Graves’ writing style to a Dan Brown-esque feel and I would have to agree but for me it just didn’t grab hold the way I wanted it to. I found the story to be more informational rather than action and overdeveloped at times.

For a lot of the novel, the characters would sit around and reminisce and going over old books, diaries, science, etc.

The twins, Madeline and Marissa who are the main characters in this novel realize they have certain “qualities” that attract Wilhelm who is seemingly their “guide” of sorts but truly I didn’t really feel a connection to the characters. I did enjoy some of Marissa’s witty comments and her strong personality as well as Madeline’s brilliant nature and the connection and bond that twins are known for.

When having to move to a different state because of Marissa’s penchant for fighting and their father’s new job the family is at odds with the unhappiness of having to move.

After receiving an old book from Wilhem and experiencing some strange phenomena at their father’s boss’ house – the twins bond together and soon develop their own unique strengths with the help from strange and unique outside forces.

I enjoyed the suspense that was created within the novel and it was definitely a different take on vampires which was enjoyable. I think what irked me most about this book was the amount of information that I didn’t think was necessary – it threw me off and I found myself searching for the next action seen. All in all I think the basis of the story is a great idea – unique and I enjoyed the action and suspense the author provided. What I am unsure of is what the next book in the series is going to involve, i.e who the main characters are going to be, who the series is going to follow, etc.

All in all, I didn’t feel a strong connection to the book or necessarily the characters but I think the overall idea of the story was an interesting one with a unique take on the paranormal and vampires.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Jason T. Graves lives in North Carolina with his family and a menagerie of small, domestic animals. He takes his coffee black, and, when he is not conducting mysterious, mad-scientist experiments with his students, he writes mysterious and beautiful fiction.

FIND THE AUTHOR HERE:

http://jasontgraves.com/

Twitter

Goodreads

Leave a Reply

