REVIEW: PATCH UP BY STEPHANIE WITTER

The snow continues to fall and fall and fall… just as it did last night while I snuggled beside the fire with Patch Up by Stephanie Witter

Image

Description:

Skye followed her long time boyfriend to Seattle for their first year of college, but he dumped her after only a week. The relationship brought only pain and destruction in Skye’s life, and yet, she can’t bring herself to open up and live her life.

“What if I am already broken into pieces?”

She hates to be touched, hiding under her oversized shirts and behind her wild frizzy hair. Even her bubbly roommate can’t reach her. And yet …

“I’m the guy who knows how you can hurt so much that your insides feel like they’re cut and bleeding.”

The tall, handsome, and tattooed TA in her psychology class changes everything when he literally collides with her and confronts her. For the first time in a long time, she wants to try and open up to this guy whose dark, intense eyes can’t hide his own pain despite his dazzling smile getting to her.

However, just when she’s starting to live again, her ex-boyfriend comes back, breaking her time and time again, making it all the more complicated.

She wants to fight for herself and for this building thing with the TA, even when he pushes her away, but can two broken people patch each other up?

“I never thought colliding with someone could change lives, but it is possible.”

* Due to some shocking scenes, this novel is for readers of 18 and up.

REVIEW:

 Patch up was definitely a dark romance but didn’t leave me feeling dark after I finished the book which I enjoyed. 
Stephanie Witter was able to pull you into the main character, Skye’s, tumultuous past that seems to follow into her present. 
After stumbling into her mysterious tattooed TA, Duke, in her Psychology class where he confronts her about her obvious closed off nature, she actually has the urge to open up to him about the pain of her past. 
Throughout the book Skye’s story is full of ups and downs, mostly downs as she tries to work through her own issues while attempting to figure out the attraction she has toward Duke and her budding friendship with her roommate Kate all while constantly being thrown into the presence of the guy who was responsible for causing all her pain – her ex. 
I think this book is full of real life scenarios; I think Skye’s reaction to Duke is believable as she fights with herself and him about their friendship and budding relationship especially when Duke is fighting with his own demons. 
I thought Witter did a great job with the dramatic scenes in the novel without making me cringe with details which was great – she was able to weave together graphic and realistic which was great. 
Although the story took a dark turn, Stephanie Witter was able to implement romance and triumph which left me smiling in the end. She also left me wondering what Kate and Derek’s story would entail. 
Overall I enjoyed the read, including the dark parts – it was unlike anything I’ve read before and although I went into it hesitant knowing it held a dark story line – I was able to close the book not necessarily uplifted but with a sense of contemplative hope for Skye and Duke.

Quotes from Patch Up:

“I want him and even if it’s frightening, even if I may not be completely ready for a relationship, I want him. Now… And tomorrow, and all the following days.”

“With you and me, I don’t know what anything means. We’re pushing each other away and yet I don’t seem to be able to let you go.”

About the Author:

Ten Things About Me:

1) I read my Harry Potter’s books so many times that it ruined them. I had to duct tape them but the pages are not well put together anymore. One day I should buy new copies. 

2) Until I was fourteen, I wanted to be a paleontologist. It might be because I saw Jurassic Park when I was a kid. I was able to tell you which dinosaurs were living at which era. It was quite freaky, really. 

3) I write Romance novels but I’m not the romantic kind of girl in real life. Not at all. There might be something to dig there in my weird brain. 

4) I have a black humor I unleash only when I’m with people I’m close, otherwise I may be seen as a heartless girl. Or just plain crazy. But I’m telling you right away, I have a heart and it’s beating just fine. 

5) When I was a little kid – way too young to watch it – I had a child crush on Noah Wyle playing Dr. Carter in the TV show ER. And when I say that I was too young… I’m born in 1989! I’m lucky that my mother explained to me the difference between fiction and reality and let me watch almost everything. And guess what I’m watching these days then? Falling Skies because he is in this show too. Yes, I am hopeless. 

6) In the same idea, I had an obsession. For some years during my teenage days, I watched horror movies. When I watched The Exorcist for the first time – the old version – I laughed my ass off while my friends were freaking out. Never watch a horror movie with me or you will have a laughing idiot next to you during the whole thing. 

7) I am afraid of planes. I don’t trust at all these flying machines. We don’t have wings so we should stick to the ground and rock it. Last time I took a plane – a three hour flight – I had my fingers digging in the seat in front of me. My body ached for days afterward, just because I was expecting the plane to crash. Like me hugging the seat in front of me would have saved me. 

8) I’m a dog person. Cuddling with a dog is just so sweet when you’re not feeling good. 

9) I’m an only child. I’m not sure, but I think it’s one of the reasons why I’m always in my bubble, making up stories in my head. I can’t tell you how many times I hit my head in stuffs, which may explain why I have so many quirks. Kidding. Sort of. 

10) My very first and most important passion is writing. You would never believe how many stories are in my head, waiting to be written. It’s almost scary the mess in there. There will be some passionate love, some sweet love, some destructive love, forbidden love, impossible love, funny love, etc. If you are still here to read them, I’ll be busy for a while! 

Where to Find Stephanie Witter:

Blog: http://stephanie-witter.blogspot.ca/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/StephanieR76

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Stephanie.witter.author

Leave a Reply

