REVIEW: AT ANY PRICE BY BRENNA AUBREY

Well… it’s snowing – Karma is playing one of her cruel jokes by not saving my edits for book 4 even though I’m on a deadline… it’s fine, I’m okay with it… rolling with the punches! 

Anywho, I have a great review for you! 

Image

 

DESCRIPTION:

Achievement Unlocked: Geek Virgin

When Mia Strong, proud geek-girl and popular gaming blogger, auctions off her virginity online, she knows she’ll make waves. But what she will not be making is a love connection. Her rules are set in stone: One night. No further contact.

It’s a desperate step, but it’s the only way she can go to medical school and pay her mother’s mounting hospital bills.

Difficulty Level: Millionaire CEO 

Adam Drake, the enigmatic auction winner, is a software prodigy who made his first million at seventeen. Now, in his mid-twenties, he’s sexy, driven and–as CEO of his own gaming company–he’s used to making the rules. Before Mia knows what’s happening, he’s found the loophole in the rules of her auction. Every stipulation she’s made to protect her heart gets tossed by the wayside.

She can’t tell if he’s playing her…or if he’s playing for keeps.

This New Adult book is intended for readers over the age of 18 due to adult language, sexual content and adult situations.

REVIEW:

Brenna Aubrey definitely knows how to write a captivating, romancing read.

When gamer girl Mia Strong auctions off her virginity through a well versed manifesto in an effort to attack her mother’s medical bills, she finds herself intensely drawn to Adam Drake the auction winner and successful enigmatic CEO of a gaming company.

The story moves through Mia’s own struggles with her attraction to Adam and how he has been able to bend her rules that state clearly – one night only.

Through the voice of her best friend, Heath, she starts second guessing both her actions and Adam’s when Heath questions what is going on. But the one thing she cannot deny is her attraction to him and his obvious attraction to her.

Twists and turns, ups and downs – Aubrey takes the reader through highs and lows as Mia fights with herself and the promise she made a long time ago – her heart was off limits. I was on edge, especially when Brenna Aubrey teased then took away and teased again as Mia and Adam’s relationship grew and took on new meanings and definitions.

I thought Mia was a strong female character and a good match to the at times controlling Adam. I found the characters relatable and the whole ‘gaming’ twist in the romance an interesting one. At points my heart broke and my eyes flooded with Mia’s struggles and I smiled and felt lifted with her coming into her own and stepping out of the shadows she had created for herself over the years.       

To be honest I wasn’t sure what I was going to be getting myself into – especially when the title of the series is Gaming the System and I am one of those people who know very little on the subject of gaming. I was hesitant and truthfully I went in wary, wondering if I would be overloaded with information and facts that would be completely over my head and incomprehensible to me – I was so very pleased to find out this was not the case – not even close! I – Could. Not. Put. This. Book. Down.

I’m not going to nitpick or point out flaws because whether there were or weren’t, they didn’t stick with me long enough to mention. I thoroughly enjoyed the story; I thought Aubrey portrayed the characters wonderfully and I loved Aubrey’s style of writing. I was absolutely enchanted with this romance and my only question is where is book 2?  

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Brenna Aubrey is an author of New Adult contemporary romance stories that center on geek culture. Her debut novel, AT ANY PRICE, releases in December, 2013.

She has always sought comfort in good books and the long, involved stories she weaves in her head. Brenna’s favorite author is Jane Austen and favorite novel is PERSUASION. 

Brenna is a city girl with a nature-lover’s heart. She therefore finds herself out in green open spaces any chance she can get. A mommy to two little kids and teacher to many more older kids, she juggles schedules to find time to pursue her love of storycrafting. 

She currently resides on the west coast with her husband, two children, two adorable golden retriever pups, two birds and some fish.

Brenna’s short story “The Love Letter” was the Grand Prize winner of the JANE AUSTEN MADE ME DO IT Short Story Contest. As such, it was included in the anthology of the same name (Ballantine, 2011)

Where you can find Brenna Aubrey:

Goodreads

Website: http://brennaaubrey.net/

Twitter

Facebook

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: AT ANY PRICE BY BRENNA AUBREY

Leave a Reply

