Spectra by Ebony Olsen – Review

BOOK DESCRIPTION: 

One touch of Spectra’s fingers leaves the predator Bay craving more.

Spectra is a Balance; a decedent of angels whose soul has been intertwined with that of sorcerer Alexander, although her heart belongs to Mercury, the son of an archangel.
Bay is a predator de Sang and sorcerer, who runs his own private security company, fighting the purist organization Essence. Seeking out Spectra for her special abilities the last thing he expected to find was a Balance strong enough to withstand his potent energy. With her heart and soul already claimed, could there be room for another in her life?

When Bay’s infatuations bring Spectra to the attention of Essence and put her life at risk, he must learn that sometimes sacrificing the ones you love is the only way to save them.

Spectra

REVIEW:

I love a novel that allows the reader to see a glimpse into the author’s mind blowing imagination and Spectra did exactly that.
This novel involves two of my favourite things, paranormal and romance. With sorcerers and magic, angels and ghosts I found it difficult to put this book down.
This was the first time I’d read Ebony Olsen and I was impressed with the story overall as well as the development of the characters. I enjoyed the different points of view, an essential part I felt to this novel. I especially liked the secondary characters and their story lines – Calin and his wives (especially Gina – love Gina!), Luke and his son, and the taboo drama that encircled them.
I enjoyed how Spectra was a strong female lead – in the beginning I wasn’t so sure given her relationship with Alexander but as her story continued to develop she turned out to be the heroin I wanted her to be. While I wanted there to be a bit more of an elaboration when it came to Spectra and some of her past as well as her current relationships, I found that overall the story was intense and passionate and I loved the non-traditional relationships that made up this book.
I found myself immediately drawn into this paranormal world that Olsen has created – curiosity, heartbreak, lust, love, secrecy – all an integral part of Spectra.
A great paranormal, an easy read, a magical (pun intended) story.

 

Where to find Ebony Olsen: 

Goodreads

Twitter

ebonyolson.com

Amazon

Leave a Reply

