Girl on My Mind: An Odyssey of Sex, Heartbreak, and the Search for True Love – REVIEW

Girl on My Mind: An Odyssey of Sex, Heartbreak, and the Search for True Love

51A-YGU5i+L._SX312_BO1,204,203,200_

BOOK DESCRIPTION: 

With a backdrop of wild animals, elephants and the majestic African savannah, safari guide Lincoln never stood a chance when the stunning, enigmatic Natasha walked into camp, flaunting a cheeky smile and capturing Lincoln’s heart for ever. 25 years later, married and middle-aged, he is still haunted by memories of their long-ago blistering affair.

One day, out of nowhere, Natasha reappears. Once more Lincoln finds himself mesmerized and breathless. Obsessed with the possibility of a second chance at true love, he begins a journey that soon threatens to unravel the entire fabric of his current, middle-aged existence.

Part steamy narrative and part contemporary blog, this deeply emotional love story shadows a REAL-LIFE relationship and ACTUAL EVENTS, giving this tortured romantic memoir a depth of authenticity and pathos which few fiction books can match.

‘The Land Rover swung across my front, obscuring my view of the charging elephant. I glanced up, and there was Natasha clutching the steering wheel and shouting for me to climb aboard. I grabbed the handrail and hauled myself to safety just as another tremendous trumpet split the air…
…“I think,” I conceded later, looking her full in the eye, “that I owe you my life.”
She smiled back. “Well, I think that’s being a bit dramatic, don’t you? I’m just really glad you’re safe.” Once again I felt that cool hand on my arm.’

REVIEW

My emotions were all over the place with this story. I thought the backdrop and the character development were fantastic, especially given that this is a novella.
Girl on My Mind was a whirlwind of fantasy, love, heartbreak and a plethora of feelings.
I found myself enjoying the love story that was building in the African heat surrounded by wild animals then becoming completely exasperated and angry. My topsy turvy emotions weren’t because of anything but the behaviour of the characters, which some would say then that Anderton did his job and did it well.
As a lover of romance and the happy ever after, every story I read, I desperately want the ideal I have mapped out in my mind of what that romance means. When that doesn’t happen, its sometimes difficult to wrap my mind around.
I couldn’t help but roll my eyes in exasperation when Lincoln (the main character) becomes increasingly obsessed with the idea of a second chance at his “true love” and willing, without thought, to give up the life he’d created with another woman, his wife. I found myself yelling at my iPad a number of times when he refused to realize the idea of a 2nd chance wasn’t reciprocated (like climbing a mountain of frustration) but also when his years of marriage and family meant nothing in the wake of Natasha.
Overall I liked the length of the novel and the amount of story that the author was able to achieve, I was impressed with the amount of emotion put into the novel as well as the character development. Its clear L T Anderton is an accomplished novelist; Girl on My Mind is a fast read full of lust and love and weighted emotion. Certainly an interesting read, one I was glad I picked up (even if I did want to shake the main character into reality by the end of the story!)

Where to find Girl on My Mind

GOODREADS

AMAZON

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

